To Hold Oneself: THE HEIR OF ATLAS

RESPONSIBILITY, n. A detachable burden easily shifted to the shoulders of God, Fate, Fortune, Luck or one’s neighbor. In the days of astrology it was customary to unload it upon a star.

Alas, things ain’t what we should see
If Eve had let that apple be;
And many a feller which had ought
To set with monarchses of thought,
Or play some rosy little game
With battle-chaps on fields of fame,
Is downed by his unlucky star
And hollers: “Peanuts! — here you are!”
“The Sturdy Beggar”

Ambrose Bierce, The Devil’s Dictionary
US author & satirist (1842 – 1914)

The three members of my family, notably my Mum, sister and myself got the shock of our lives when we all heard from Dad that the other members  of the T_______ family was going to visit without letting us know ealier this week. The JDub side of the family; that side of the family. Where can I start with this slightly demented family of seven? Firstly, they act snobby and up-themselves even though they’re from the country and the youngest is home-schooled because she couldn’t deal with the problem of bullying and neither could her parents, the oldest of the girls almost didn’t marry to the man of her dreams because of her father (who is my uncle) and here’s the worst bit: they rock up, unannounced, barge into our house without knocking or asking permission for things and expect us to be waiting hand and foot! I had to deal with the over-hyped tirades of my youngest cousin, T_____ and her liking for a certain MMO with a reputation for silliness  and lameness and bragging about her Mod status and what she could do with it. *sigh* A game such as that must be fun if you’re into it, but don’t expect that kind of greatness or power to go as far as what we call the Real World, my dear cousin. My Dad responded with the fact that no one considered his feelings at the time, but it isn’t so easy to consider them particularly when one’s father acts the child without knowing it. I had to withstand the complaints of my Aunt S____ one time at Cotts when she complained that the water was cold when the three of us (T_____, Uncle J__ and myself) persuaded her to go swimming with us. I stated that the body will warm itself once in the cold waters. She was even brave enough to complain about my Mum’s cooking which was a simple meal of noodles—Malay cuisine! Right in front of her by saying, “Eww! Too hot!” I practically had to clean everyone else’s messes during those few days since they knew no better than to leave it in the sink. During those few days, I got somewhat closer to my cousin and uncle, but my relationship with my Aunt has soured a lot more than before because of her obvious inability to be adventurous, preferring instead to sit indoors, on her arse all day long. The first I met the family was in lower school and she practically “introduced” herself in the same manner: in her bedroom, sitting on her arse. I remembered seeing a colour picture of her when she was younger and more prettier, but how such youth and beauty hid the uglyness inside for so long is beyond me.  The lesson to this is: if the people wanting help from you in any form is immediate and close family, go ahead. But if they’re not, tell them to bug off before it’s too late.

  1. i’m not close with any extended relatives, and reading stories like this makes me feel glad i don’t have to go through it. but it’s also sad because during festivals, like the xmas season currently, it’s lonely. 😦 so as difficult as it was to entertain them unannounced, i’m sure it must be nice to have relatives to visit when you come down to malaysia for a visit. 🙂 who knows, maybe they secretly think of your family that way too back then. :mrgreen: just saying…

  2. But that’s the thing; this is the Australian side of the family and I would consider the Malay one more as immediate family because of their politeness and all, plus, they’re not up-themselves when it comes to everything 🙂

  3. ooh the australian side! i always thought you migrated there and hence all families referred to are from malaysia. 😛 so are you a kacukan?

  4. I was born in Australia, but a few months after I was born, we moved to Malaysia and had to stay for six years and then moved back to Australia in October (or was it September?) 1998, I was about to turn ten years old once it hit November. Pretty detailed 😛 🙂

  5. i like details. 🙂

  6. Have a barbeque with plenty of fosters
    It works for me

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

