The Tale of the Wounded Healer: HOME STRETCHES AND LOST CAUSES

People who ask our advice almost never take it. Yet we should never refuse to give it, upon request, for it often helps us to see our own way more clearly.
Brendan Francis

Last night at work, there was quite the number of customers. So much in fact, that once I came in, I noticed that one of my co-workers (the very one that trained me, in fact) was under a lot of strain, I saw quite an ugly part of her that night. She was already at the breaking point, a place of no return. This is when I feel like dropping my shields and weapons when it comes to dealing with so many people; there are times when I try to make the best of a rotten situation, even if I know that there aren’t any spotlights shining down to make it better. These are times when I don’t know what else will remedy the situation, especially with R____ because nobody knows how to approach her correctly when it comes to speaking to tell her of her behavior and calming her down. But pretending that didn’t happen is worse. I basically told her to go home, have dinner and sleep. Maybe I should consider becoming a doctor… of sorts 🙂

  1. i totally agree with that quote! even though i made up my mind by myself, i like to hear other people’s opinions to make sure i’m doing the right thing, even if they are suggesting something the opposite.

    and about your co-worker, i thought you had the right mentality and approach. pretending nothing happen doesn’t always make a problem go away. sometimes, maybe, but sometimes not either.

  2. Hmmm, true! The quote definitely isn’t mine though, I’m just borrowing it! 😛

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

