To March is to Lead: GAUNTLET RUN

A sense of humor is part of the art of leadership, of getting along with people, of getting things done.
Dwight D. Eisenhower
34th president of US 1953-1961 (1890 – 1969)

Today I marched with an army of greenhorns by my side into the battlefield of the workplace, serving customers, taking down replacements, stocking up and the like and instructing the influx of all these people, who really should be trained a lot more than what I’ve seen. Now after what I’ve done, I’ve realized how all the higher-ups must feel when it comes to dealing with us, not being able to solve their own dilemmas before or after, because we and the customers come before them. I felt like I was suddenly promoted to General or something, since I had to co-ordinate the new people, namely G______ and S____’s younger brother for most of my time there, despite me saying that I’m absolutely rubbish with explaining how to do things in general. Even explaining simple things could be quite a chore, like loading a nineteeth century cannon instead of going for a tank. But, I learnt something really important here; leaders can be made instead of born.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

