As Time Trickles Slow: SIMPLE PLEASURES

Cooking is like love. It should be entered into with abandon or not at all.
Harriet Van Horne

Ever since I cooked the Clafouti and went to Borders for a cookbook a few days after the ordeal of cooking literally from scratch, I’ve literally fallen in love with cooking, instead of going the easy way and buying things off the shelf. It’s wonder what a person’s drive, time, ingredients, the right tools in the kitchen and one’s hands can do. Doing things by scratch makes one feel very accomplished, plus, it beats eating instant foods from the convienience store. The smells that rise up from the oven, the feeling of exaustion akin to pulling several loads of bricks and the anticipation of tasting the goodies that arrive soon after. It’s simply wonderful. After all, even salad dressings prepared by yourself is a lively addition compared to those from a bottle. Now I can eat salad without worrying about olives or small cubes of cheese! My repetoire so far: Berry lemon clafouti, custard, egg custard tarts, gnocchi with blue cheese sauce, vinaigrette dressing, not to mention how to seperate the egg yolk from the white ๐Ÿ™‚ Next up, Chinese mango pudding or watermelon jewels. It’s moments like these that regress me into a curious, eager child who’s quite interested in ways to creatively create mess with a valid excuse, hoping with pry away the glory of setting off the smoke alarm from a certain twin sister who has done it several times whilst frying up the humble breakfast rashers.

  1. Wow, I’ve never been able to cook. When I’ve tried, I feel so frustrated that I’ve spent hours making something that it’s going to disappear in minutes, that I don’t eat what I make. Also, something I love about food is savouring all the little parts that make it up. If I make my own food I will already know for sure what is in it. Spoiler.

    Also I have no patience. I will pour random things at random quantities for not having to wash and use the right elements.

    Nessa Cooking = Pigs Flying.

  2. Pigs flying, eh? Last time I saw a pig fly, it was straight into a sizzling fry-pan ๐Ÿ˜› But the book which I have makes it easier that it looks; a child could do it if the parent wasn’t so over-protective ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. Borders + mango pudding = AWESOME!

    I don’t know if you’ve ever tried it, but it’s this milk custard, but the it’s milk from water buffalos. I don’t think you can eat in Australia, though. That is so awesome.

  4. Milk from water baffalos? I don’t think Kakulas Brothers would stock it either, but I’ll try and look. Or is it an Asian thing? Because I’ve never seen it in Northbridge or at Emma’s Seafood ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

