Life’s Lessons II: SHUFFLED DECKS

The new month has started for me in a storm of cookery (mainly gnocchi, custard, custard tarts and making vinaigrette dressing), work and playing the piano and learning it like a duck to water, which is cold, considering the prolonging, typically bi-polar winter weather in Oz with added flooding in the City of Perth. The current forecast to my life is generally hopeful to the point of feeling unstoppable and deathproof (no, not that movie by Tarantino, unfortunately). L______ has been quite an addition in terms of piano-playing, correcting how I’ve been playing out the beats whilst tickling the ivories and figuring out that warm-ups will make my left-hand playing less… shall we say, retarded. Like everyone else, I’d had my fair share of movies, mainly The Dark Knight which everyone is still going ga-ga about like the reinvention of the wheel (despite Ledger’s Joker looking like a Don’t-Fuck-With-Me hobo in serious purple and dark green Armani drag, with all the seriousness of a relative with cancer) and the one with Jackie Chan, which was a letdown. Meanwhile, at the work front, S____ is discovered to be quite controlling, paranoid and as obsessive-compulsive as I’d first thought, with the customers being filled with more arse-holery than ever (I even “pranked” a group of them in a van by overfilling the desserts with extra topping, enough to make a mess of the vehicle at high-speed). Not to mention the current influx in noobcakes across the area. Anyway, that’s all for me, Sade out.

  1. how do you pronounce gnocchi>? it looks like an italian word but somehow /nokki/ doesn’t seem like how it should be said.

  2. Hi, again. I knpow you liked Dune, so let me just recommend “Gone Away World” by Nick Harkaway to you. You’d love it. As for movies, a goodie to track down would be “No Mercy for the Rude.” You know you want to…

    All Hail the Heartbeat.

  3. Gnocchi is pronounced “nokki” according to Wikipedia πŸ™‚ Is seems right, since saying it as “guh-no-chi” sounds odd πŸ˜›

  4. Stop tempting me, Riggs! πŸ˜› I’m reading two books at the moment, not Dune related; Ghosts of Columbia by L.E. Modesitt Jr and Beyond Good and Evil by Friedrich Nietzsche. So, I guess that the ones recommended by you will have to wait πŸ˜›

  5. Tempting is what I’m good at. πŸ˜›

    Truly, though. Track that book. You’ll thank me for it.

  6. Hmmm… I’ll see about it πŸ™‚

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

