Re-Union: IRON MAN

If you’re holding out for universal popularity, I’m afraid you will be in this cabin for a very long time.
J. K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
British fantasy author

I remembered the 90’s cartoon when I was younger… You know, the opening scene with Tony Stark slaving away in a dank garage-cum-laboratory with a wielder’s mask and a blowtorch making his spiffy Iron Man suit and then flying around with his dark-skinned sidekick (of whom I’ve forgotten the name of, it’s been that long). Anyway, the new movie is quite a hoot to watch, especially when other people before you tell of a extra scene after the credits and the meal at Fast Eddie’s before that with M___ ordering a strawberry flavored American milkshake with I___, R____ and myself at the table, waiting for our meals with little time to spare. The conversational ball or merry-go-round, went as follows:

  • R____ and I___ discussing the prospect of having a LAN party, with me saying that I played Guild Wars and not World of Warcraft, with R____ trying to “start something” with me about playing Guild Wars.
  • I___ and myself discussing religion, particularly Christianity and their Sub-sect of JDubs (AKA Jehovah’s Witnesses) and how I remember fondly of Dad starting fights with the door-to-door ones because of being pestered by them and plus the tale of I___’s grandmother and something similar.
  • M___ and his drink of the Strawberry milkshake delivered to the table, with him saying “It looks like liquid diabetes!” and R____’s friend agreeing, “It does look like liquid diabetes!”
  • R____ and his friend trying to goad me on to finish up my meal of fish and chips, since we had a bit less than half an hour before the start of the Iron Man movie.

The Iron Man movie itself was actually quite good with a few scene and character changes here and there and of course the extra scene after the credits which shows a member of S.H.I.E.L.D. by the name of Nick Fury (of whom I recall working with X-Men’s Wolverine once) appearing on-screen, leaving me with a slightly sour taste in mouth because of the sheer diffeence between Marvel’s Nick Fury and the one portrayed in this movie. What were they thinking? Anyway, cue in M___ driving us back to his place and racing R____ to the sounds of Morgenstern, by Rammstein at high speed.

    • WendySkeleton
    • May 8th, 2008

    I’ve heard a lot of positive reviews for it. Apparently a second one has been confirmed.

  1. Well, with that extra scene with Nick Fury from S.H.I.E.L.D. I wouldn’t be surprised if a second movie was in the works.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

