When It All Goes: VENGEANCE

Revenge is a kind of wild justice, which the more man’s nature runs to the more ought law to weed it out.
Sir Francis Bacon
English author, courtier, & philosopher (1561 – 1626)

Where should I start? Oh yes, the pros and the cons of such a dualistic subject (or one of the many, anyway).

  • Revenge or vengeance is a form of justice, justice being the things that “good” people do; therefore, it is safe to say that it is encouraged
  • “Getting back at someone”, as the kids say these days, makes you feel good
  • The bible says something along “an eye for an eye” meaning that it’s allowed, even if they call for moderation, like alcohol

The concept however in this modern day and age is now unheard of apart from popular media, but there’s one question: Is it even right to do so even if the target of this is your friend?

  1. technically, morally, vengeance does not justify itself. the bible itself says that somewhere i’m sure, despite the an eye for an eye reference. however, i do understand our desire for it. take vengeance only if you are prepared to face the consequences. sometimes it’s better to be wronged than to put yourself in deeper shit (vengeance can sometimes do that!).

    • thedesktop
    • February 4th, 2008

    I’m going to quote Khan on the subject- “revenge is a dish best served cold.” Vis-a-vis, revenge requires you to detach from your emotions and focus on your vengeance in cold blood, which is horrible.

    I remember my own run-in with revenge. I was a young sailor back in Marseilles. My beloved captain died, and told me to deliver a letter to Napoleon. My best friend stabbed me in the back and accused me of being a Bonapartist, and I was exiled to the prison of Chateau d’If. There I gained the friendship of a priest, who gave me a treasure map, taught me to read, and died in his cell, which gave me a chance to escape. After finding my treasure, I made myself a count, and swore revenge on my friend.

    As it turned out, my friend had married my hot fiancee, Mercedes. After calling to attention my friend’s illegal acts, he killed himself, and Mercedes fled to Africa and died, leaving me sad and alone for the rest of my life.

    • romi41
    • February 4th, 2008

    LMAO at The Desktop’s story…hahaha..

    And as for me…umm…”the best revenge is living well?”….haha, but seriously, I am completely incapable of holding a grudge (even when I want to), so it’s hard for me to get into that mindset.

    Cheers,

    -Romi(pushover)41

  2. I’ve held grudges for so long that I am surprised at not cracking up yet in terms of actual sanity. But seeing people apologize to me late is no excuse if I’m wronged. So that’s the thing really.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

