Gadget: PSP

During the chore/shopping spree that is Christmas shopping, I finally received my much awaited PSP after finishing the one to two week lay-by period (the longest is a month).

I thought T_____ would be nice and chuck in a free game, but apparently not. But he asked and I refused, saying that I will play my favourite ripped DVD’s of Doctor Who, Rozen Maiden and Transformers: Beast Machines for the time being before even purchasing a game (or hoping a certain somebody would get me one for Christmas day). I tried it on my Rozen Maiden subtitled DVD and it worked like a charm, but the only thing a PSP cannot do is .AVI files. My remedy was:

  1. Download software that can convert from .AVI to .MPEG (.MPG) like the one by ImTOO and create a folder for the converted files to reside in.
  2. Wait patiently for the conversion to finish.
  3. Open the PSP Media Manager (hoping that it was downloaded from the website beforehand)
  4. Drag and drop the files for the video mode into the box below and covert.
  5. Wait patiently again.
  6. Lather, rinse and repeat for the other DVD’s or .AVI files you wish.

Then I was off and watching the first episode to test it, seeing that it works, I followed suit as per instruction. As the kiddies say these days: Happy, happy! Joy, joy! Until I get a game, that is.

  1. December 17th, 2007

Leave a Reply

