Change of Age: CARDS AND THINGS

BIRTH, n. The first and direst of all disasters. As to the nature of it there appears to be no uniformity. Castor and Pollux were born from the egg. Pallas came out of a skull. Galatea was once a block of stone. Peresilis, who wrote in the tenth century, avers that he grew up out of the ground where a priest had spilled holy water. It is known that Arimaxus was derived from a hole in the earth, made by a stroke of lightning. Leucomedon was the son of a cavern in Mount Aetna, and I have myself seen a man come out of a wine cellar.
Ambrose Bierce, The Devil’s Dictionary
US author & satirist (1842 – 1914)

I got a birthday card, yes! It’s a virtual one, so unfortunately I can only link to it and hope it works. I’m hoping to get my sister her present today, even though I am supposed to be saving for the Big Day Out ’08 and also, my ferocious wanting for a Playstation Portable which doesn’t help much. The cake was actually a new flavour; sherry cheesecake. That cake was the most richest thing I’ve eaten in a long time and to make it worse, I was also watching Criminal Minds on the TV, the episode where the victim goes through many rooms, ala Saw, except that it’s a mild knock off of the said movie. For the birthday dinner (held earlier on the 24th), we went to Hippo Creek, somewhere in Scarborough Beach, where we had Avo Dugout; stuffed avocados, African Safari; a selection of camel, crocodile and ostrich meat served with Monkey Gland sauce (just a name for the earthy tasting sauce) and Peri-Peri sauce (I liked this sauce better) and a huge baked potato with sour cream and for dessert, Chocolate Tart with vanilla ice-cream! Yummy!

  1. it works. 😉 why get your sister a present today?

    … twins?!

  2. I don’t get paid unless it’s a Tuesday and yes, I am a twin. Apparently the “evil” one 😉

  3. wahh, so cute! my first pair of ‘ying yong’, as they call it in cantonese (ie. girl and boy twins). of course you’re the evil one, look at your scary avatar, haha!

    well, hope you have (had?) a great birthday!

  4. I will! Mwahahahaha! 😛

    • the desktop
    • November 28th, 2007

    Ah, happy spirit journey formation anniversary! I hope you had fun eating your weird meats.

  5. Correction! I didhave fun eating my selection of meats. Pity they had no Port to enjoy it with. Mmmm… Meat…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment