The Travels of the Foreigner: HILANG DAN HABIS-LAH!(PT I)

Monday: Went to the homes of several relatives of whose names I have clearly forgotten, salaam’ed them as per the greeting and custom rules of Hari Raya, wore quite a nice blue number to go with my equally wild hair.

Comments all around. By the second or third house visit I ended up falling asleep in the car. I dined on Raya food for the evening and wonder at the fact that the Malay love for over dramatic soapies have not changed since. The most funniest thing was my Bahasa Melayu blunder of my uncle apparently hearing me say, “Makan Kulai.” instead of “Makan gulai.”, which is what I said at the question what else I wanted for food. My other source of amusement was also my cousin testing his “repertoire” in Bahasa Inggeris in a stumbling manner. Never in my life have I felt more like Nodame from Nodame Cantabile!

  1. aih, cerita kamu tak cukup syok lah! i’m still clueless as to where you came from and what were you doing there in the first place. 😉

    mesti makan banyak masa raya, kan? dah gemuk? 😛

  2. Ya, saya makan banyak tetapi metabolism tinggi, tau. Tak cukup? Alamak! Kau nak ni macam Harry Potter ke? Ha, ha! Saya write post lagi untuk “chronicle” ni hari esok, ya?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

