Adventures In: BEER

The Japanese are known for taking an unconventional spin on everything. Including this:

Having a cold beer after a hot bath is a nightly ritual for many Japanese, and now the country has found a way to further indulge โ€” soaking in the suds themselves.

In this mountainous hot spring resort just a day trip from Tokyo, a spa park is offering a bathtub, shaped like a beer mug, filled with heated amber water and white foam with the aroma of hops and barley.

The Hakone Kowakien Yunessun is also pouring and spraying real beer into the bath and onto the customers three times a day until December 31. – From Sloshed in Beer.

I imagine that they would do this recreational pursuit with every drink imaginable like Calpis Water, Bikkle, Coca-Cola, Soda Water and even better yet, Port or Whisky! Now that’s pure class!

  1. well, some people always had the fantasy to sitting in a jacuzzi of champagne. cleopatra herself bathed in milk. so crazy as it bathing in beer sounds, it isn’t entirely original. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. I believe it was asses’ milk. But the Japanese have ways of making old things new and re-inventing the wheel from the left field that makes it all original all over again ๐Ÿ˜› They even have Blue Cheese and Honey Pizza there too. I’m curious!

  3. The Japanese are so odd. I love their ways. I would like to bathe in a giant beer mug. Preferable without a Japanese man with me, but . . . whatever.

  4. You don’t have to go to Japan for a beer-themed bathing experience. LUSH Cosmetics has a beer-based shampoo.

    It actually doesn’t smell that beery. Mysteriously, it smells a bit like mown grass and sandalwood. I just had to try it out of rank curiosity. It’s a pretty good shampoo, though not my favorite of all times.

  5. Now I’ve heard everything!

  6. I have washed my hair with beer before because it makes it shiny, but now I think I’m going to take more beer baths. If it works for the Japanese, there’s gotta be something to it. Have you bathed in beer yet Virgilius Sade?

  7. Nope. I was thinking about doing that in port ๐Ÿ˜› I wonder what happens if you used kumis instead; would it make you smell since it is made from goat’s milk?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

