Questions: FERNS?

Sigmund Freud had a morbid fear of ferns – From OddSpots

I read it from somewhere rather out of my memory. I wondered for many times over on how someone like him could be so scared of ferns, so I decided to ask people. Their answers were:

1) I dunno. Well that answer is the most obvious, since this guy is rather out of marbles.

2) Fear comes in many shapes and forms… No Lady, don’t start with this crap, I know this better than you, so please.

3) Maybe it’s the hidden, gross-out factor of a tree and how it grows and shoots forth from a mere seed that scared poor Sigmund to death since he didn’t know how to handle such knowledge of the fact that trees come from seeds. 

4) Again, who knows? But if you could provide the answer, then I’d appreciate it.

    • Emma
    • October 17th, 2007

    I myself have wondered the same thing on many occasions. Only one slightly insightful answer has been suggested by those around me. “It’s all in the spores. Anything that reproduces like that is fucking scary.”

    So you there go. Apparently it’s slightly justified for Freud to be deathly afraid of ferns. Apparently.

  1. So he was scared of something that apparently lacked an identity? Oh no, I should put it more frankly, he was scared of something that clearly didn’t have a sex.

    • Kirsty
    • February 14th, 2008

    well i think he’s right. the bottom of ferns are disgusting

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

