Chapter XVII: Morning After

"Why were you so late in coming back last night?" I asked Cos as he stumbled into my office looking rather disheveled. His hair wasn't slicked back as usual and his coat was…open. I had a vague feeling that something might've happened.

"You know there's a killer on the loose? It was reported that he killed a streetwalker last night." Cos just nodded in his own way, unaffected.

"I know, he isn't in our district anyway. I've got to go and look for Josie, see you later." He left in a hurry, worrying about the girl living on site. I felt sick to my stomach about the idea of killers on the loose. I looked at the newspaper on the table in front of me and the TV screen, both were talking about the same thing, making my condition worse. Events like this will shake the society a bit, so we try our best to let the field operatives quieten things down for us without worrying about getting our hands dirty. There was a little note which said: "your turn" with a smiley face attached to it, oh no. I walked to the laundry room and looked at one white garment out of curiosity. My heart just jolted, there was dried blood on this!

"What the?" I quickly opened the cupboard nearby to get a grey plastic bag and shoved the familiar coat into it and hurried to the private lab, hoping it's not what I think it was.

 

 

  1. DO NOT EVEN THINK of dropping out of college!
    And she is right, to a certain extent, it doesn’t gurantee that you’ll get a better job, it just rises up the odds, and sometimes that’s enough.
    OK, that’s one of the revelations I had.
    I dreamed you leaving college tonight, the horror!
    Oh, and one more thing, what’s TAFE?
    Oh, and you’re a Saggitarius? me too… sort of…
    well anyway, talk soon. I’ll be moving along now…

  2. UPDATE: I have now managed to make the theme display links!

    • Loki
    • June 20th, 2006

    You dreamed? But you haven’t seen me in real life! TAFE stands for Technical and Further Education. See here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/TAFE

  3. Oh, no, just kidding, I read your blog, your “old” one I think. It just showed up on my dashboard saying that you linked to me. Thank you so much for mentioning me there.
    Did you get my e-mail?

    • Loki
    • June 20th, 2006

    Uh, wait, I’ll check ๐Ÿ˜›

  4. OK, I’m resending it to you.

    • Loki
    • June 21st, 2006

    I got it! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I love the concept of this type of blog, I just started reading some of your stories, the Abstractions series. I discovered you blog through Mick from Sweet Immolation. I’m looking forward to reading your entire blog over the next few days.

    • Loki
    • June 21st, 2006

    Both Mick and myself linked to one another ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m glad that 1) You’re liking this series, which will give me a reason to continue and 2) I’m getting a little more readership ๐Ÿ˜€ which is better than having just one person commenting. Hope you come back for more!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

