Chapter XIII: The Pulse Of A Million, The Beat Of One, Part I

A birthday is a celebration of one's progression from one age-number to the next and is a rite of transition. "Andrea, she's on the verge." I feel quite sleepy listening to the sound of water dripping from somewhere in the same white room, with its familiar tiled walls and floor. The Doctor is bringing a large hypodermic needle with blue stained syringe containing moving, silvery organisms inside suspended within a clear liquid.

"You have weird ways of celebrating her birthdays, you know." The words said by Andrea makes the Doctor laugh loudly. People react in the most strangest of ways, some I find confusing or hard to understand. I cannot move at all, the clamps keep me from moving to make application less troublesome.

A birthday gift is expected at times like this. Birthdays are celebrated everyday.

"You're thinking that this will qualify as a present? You know, the things you do to save are considered illegal! What if everybody else finds out? We'll be kicked out for sure!" That was when Andrea asked what the Doctor was going to give to me as a present, she was quite angered by it.

"Well, it's too late to turn back now." His voice is like music to me, it distracts the feeling of being pricked by a sharp end of an object. Andrea says nothing, the rest of the minutes pass in with the sound of beeps prevailing. I can see the little silvery bugs crawl onto my wrist and enlarge the hole created by the needle end, just to get inside, not wanting to be left behind or be destroyed by accident.

Humans are like that too, people fail to notice the small things about themselves.

"Sleepy…" I try my best communicate to the Doctor verbally, but it always comes out like this. Only my thoughts remain unchanged. He smiles to me in his usual way, just to make me feel at home. He comes to the side of my bed at looks down at me as I go to sleep, to dream of the void.

"She says that she's sleepy, but nothing is wrong with her. The whole procedure for the nanites to start functioning once they enter the bloodstream will take a while. So leave her alone to dream of nothing, of the void."

"Well, you're the eccentric one, Cos." A light reveals itself at the end of the tunnel, a tunnel that leads to–

  1. New post! Check it out!

    • Loki
    • June 15th, 2006

    yup, it’s my turn, wheee! 🙂

  2. OK, …, still waiting for you…, don’t let let your imagination loose though, too loose, at least. let’s not bring in any dragons or… OK, I’m not going to give you any ideas. No more strange monster thingyies though! one type is enough for this chapter!
    A, over and out.

    • Loki
    • June 17th, 2006

    Yeah, all right. I know what you mean! 🙂 One species is enough for now, right?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

