Fragment of a Symphony: Petals and Punishment

My angel has fallen from grace today.
It breaks her heart to know that she has failed me.
It breaks my heart to hear,
“No, say it is not so!”

She inevitably welcomes the embrace of cold and shackled chains,
her once unmarked wings turning to black as she slowly falls to her knees.
“Forgive me.” I hear her say as I gather up the nine blackened tails of agony and misery.

I decorate her with autographs, signs and symbols that blush of many roses,
as I magnify our symphony with the numbers of perfection and change.

The chorale that greets my ears is one of much needed redemption;
another chance that only I can give.

“The pain of it all will cleanse your mind and sharpen your thought.”
I say to her at last as I put my misery machine away to be played with another day,
between us after, there is many a thing for us to say.

As the rosy wounds on her snow pale body begin to swell, she takes my hand and nears it to her lips as the crimson petals from her paleness starts to flow like nectar turned to wine.

Creative Commons License

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 2.1 Australia License.

–>

    • Silver Wynd
    • December 19th, 2005

    Very dark with such vivid imagery, I enjoyed the short little verses at the very begining.

  1. It took me two days to finish this piece off, I was having a few problems writing this at the beginning-to-middle bits, and also when it came to putting it all together. Glad to hear that you enjoyed it 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment